營養聚焦 - 海參

基督教聯合那打素社康服務
預防醫學及醫療服務部 / 社區營養服務
陳紫敏 助理服務經理兼(美國)註冊營養師
香港營養師協會認可營養師
Website : www.ucn.org.hk   
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ucnchs

海洋藏寶圖: 海參

看到一篇有關潛水之旅的特寫,不禁令筆者回味著浮游於碧海中、藍天下的悠閒假期時光,更懷念著繽紛豐盛的各種海洋物產如珊瑚、熱帶魚及海洋裡完全不起眼的珍寶 “海參”。

接觸活海參的第一次
還記得那次在馬里旅遊時,看到海裡的一隻又一隻伏於海床上體積尤如大腿一般粗的「物體」,細問之下,原來就是海參。雖然馬里盛產海參,但當地馬里人卻不會作食用。還笑問筆者是否來自香港,因馬里有大量海參出口至本港。

海參過百種
其實,海參還有其他別名或譯名,如石魚 (stone fish)、深海紅魚 (deep water red fish)、黑魚 (black fish)等等。有約500種不同類別,不同的出產地如南太平洋、西印度洋、南中國海、非州、夏威夷、南加州、澳洲、紐西蘭或蘇格蘭東岸等。根據聯合國世界糧農組織報告,印度是最大海參的出口國家,而中國和香港約入口40-80%的海參,需求量極大。

海參的營養概況
為何中國人這麼喜歡進食海參?皆因一個字—補 !
雖然海參種類繁多,但只有約20多種被確定其營養價值及擁有市場價格。市場價格基於其質量、外觀、產品、色澤、氣味和厚度,當然供求情況亦會影響價格。不同出產地的海參,其營養價值亦有所不同。但一般鮮海參 所含水分約8成,因此,乾海參的重量跟鮮海參相差很遠。鮮海參熱量不高,每100克約含56 千卡的熱量,熱量比鮑魚還要低一半。其熱量主要來源是蛋白質,屬低脂和低糖的類別。含有鈣質、維他命A及維他命B。有很多人查詢關於海參的膳食膽固醇含量,由於食物中的膽固醇不是導致心血管疾病的主要因素,因此不用限制進食雞蛋。不過,你需要留意每日的肉類攝取量 (每天建議進食5-8兩肉) 及進食不同種類的肉類,以達至營養均衡。

海參的隱藏元素
除了基本營養元素,海參亦被用作研究於多種不同的疾病預防和治療作用。當中包括其抗氧化物的含量和降低有害自由基的功能,還有其他研究當中的營養素和物質包括脂肪酸、酵素、醣類等或對人體免疫力、抗癌、神經系統、炎症有關的作用。

也許,海洋蘊藏著多不勝數的產物,切忌過度捕獲。最好應適量攝取,適可宜止!


回到頁頂

Hot Nutrition Topics - Sea Cucumbers

United Christian Nethersole Community Health Service
Preventive Medicine and Clinical Services (PMCS)
Community Nutrition Service (CN)
Website: www.ucn.org.hk 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/ucnchs

Ms. Heidi Chan 
Assistant Service Manager/Community Dietitian
Registered Dietitian (CDR, USA)
Accredited Dietitian ( HKDA, HK)

Treasure of The Ocean : Sea Cucumbers

The article on diving was reminiscent and recollecting my leisure vacation spent in the vast ocean and under the blue sky. More so, I miss the abundant and diversified range of deep sea creatures, from coral reefs to tropical fish and in particular sea cucumbers, a non eye-catching and quiet jewel in the deep sea.

The first encounter with live sea cucumbers
I still vividly remember while traveling in Male, I saw numerous creatures as thick as the human thigh lying on the seabed, only to find out later that they were live sea cucumbers. The local people in Male do not consume them even though their place is well known for abundant production of sea cucumbers. With my shown interest to sea cucumbers, they even asked me whether I was from Hong Kong, as they knew a large amount of sea cucumbers are exported to Hong Kong.

Hundreds of varieties of sea cucumbers
Sea cucumber is in fact also known by other names, such as stone fish, deep water red fish and black fish. There are approximately 500 types of sea cucumbers from different origins such as the Southern Pacific Ocean, Western Indian Ocean, Southern China Sea, Africa, Hawaii, Southern California, Australia, New Zealand and the East Coast of Scotland. According to a report from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, India is the largest exporting country for sea cucumbers, while China and Hong Kong have shown great demand, importing around 40-80% of the sea cucumbers produced.

The nutrition profile of sea cucumbers
You may ask why the sea cucumber is such a popular food amongst Chinese population. it is simply because of its nourishing content. Even though there are so many varieties of sea cucumbers available, only around 20 species have been confirmed to be nutritious and have market value. The market value is based on the quality, appearance, species, color, smell and thickness of the sea cucumber, while the demand and supply around the world will also affect their market price. Sea cucumbers from different regions contain different nutritional values. Generally, water constitutes 80% of a fresh sea cucumber; naturally the weight of dried and fresh sea cucumbers would be vastly different. The energy content of fresh sea cucumbers is low, containing around 56 kcal per 100 g, half of what abalones provide. With the main source of energy (calories) coming from protein, sea cucumbers can be considered as low fat and low carbohydrate, and is also a source of calcium, vitamin A and B. I am aware that lots of people query about the cholesterol content of sea cucumbers. Since dietary cholesterols play a minor role in the development of heart disease, you can still enjoy sea cucumbers with moderation.

The hidden benefits of sea cucumbers
Apart from the nutritional aspect, sea cucumbers have been researched for different disease preventative and therapeutic purposes. These include the amount of antioxidants it contains and the ability to reduce harm from free radicals. Other research looked at nutrients and minerals in sea cucumbers such as fatty acids, enzymes and carbohydrates, and their effects on immunity, cancer susceptibility, inflammation, and nervous system of the human body.

Perhaps the ocean has a lot of exciting produce in store for us, but please refrain from overexploiting natural resources and most importantly, remember to eat in moderation!

Translated by Danica Yau, Accredited Practising Dietitian (Australia), Editor of HKDA